STA Guidelines & Expectations
By recognizing that you are the most valuable resource, to an employer, we will always strive to provide you a professional, safe, and quality training experience. All DCJS students are required to take an exam prior to being registered with the Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services, Private Security Section. DCJS Armed Officers, in addition to the above, are required to attend 24 hours of firearms training.
For any Virginia DCJS, D.C. SOMB/MPD, or Maryland State Police regulated courses, you must be at least 18 years old, a legal resident of the United States, without any felony convictions or convictions of crimes of moral turpitude, nor currently the subject of a protective order issued by any jurisdiction.
FOR FIREARMS COURSES, STUDENTS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR PROVIDING OR RENTING THEIR OWN FIREARMS, AND PAYING FOR RANGE FEE, AND PURCHASING OR BRINGING THEIR OWN AMMUNITION. Students who cannot provide their own ammunition or rent, bring their own firearm should notify Strategic Training Academy at least 72 hours before class so that possible arrangements can be made.
For all firearm courses, 2 forms of identification are required, and Proof of citizenship and place of birth based in the form of the following documents: A valid driver’s license or government-issued photo ID (driver’s license, military photo ID, government ID card) and social security card along with one of the following: Unexpired passport (including Visa page(s); birth certificate; U.S. Citizenship ID card, or U.S. Legal, Permanent Resident ID card (green card”).
This policy pertains to all training. There are NO REFUNDS for training classes, but you may re-schedule your class one (1) time for another date within one (1) month of the originally scheduled course date. NO REFUNDS will be made for “No Shows” (a “No Show” is a person who registers for a class but does attend the class). If STA needs to cancel an in-person class, STA offers ONLY a transfer of initial registration to another date, provided such class is scheduled and space is available. If STA determines that a student must be removed from the class for inappropriate or illegal conduct, or violation of STA Policy, NO refunds will be made. Pursuant to the Administrative Code 6 VAC 20-173-180-8, you have 30 days from the date of online in-service purchase (first log-on) to complete the course. If you do not complete the course in that time period, you must purchase the course again and start from the beginning.
- AMMUNITION ANS OR LOADED FIREARMS ARE NOT ALLOWED IN THE ACADEMY BUILDING!
- Prior to attending any course, the students are required to visit our website to ensure they meet the minimum qualifications and prerequisites for the course being contemplated.
- Student understands that persons meeting any of the following conditions are prohibited by federal or state law to possess a firearm or taking any firearm course and may not attend or take any training from Strategic Defense:
· A felon
· An illegal immigrant
· Currently charged for a crime that would, upon conviction, bar you from possessing a firearm
· A person who was dishonorably discharged from any of the armed forces of the United States
· A person who has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year
· A person who has been convicted of a crime of violence in any court of the United States, the several states, commonwealths, territories, possessions, or the District of Columbia or who is a fugitive from justice or a habitual drunkard or a drug addict or who has been adjudicated mentally incompetent
· A person who by order of a circuit judge or county court judge of this State has been adjudged unfit to carry or possess a firearm
· A person subject to a court order prohibiting stalking, harassing, or threatening an intimate partner or child of an intimate partner or placing them in reasonable fear of bodily injury
· A person found by a court or mental facility to have certain mental disabilities
· A fugitive from Justice
· A person who has formally renounced US citizenship
· A member of a subversive organization
· A person who has been previously denied a license
4. COVID 19 – You are required to self-quarantine if you are symptomatic or have been in contact with a person who has tested positive for COVID-19 or is waiting for test results due to suspected COVID-19.
5. DO NOT ATTEND if you or anyone in your household is ill or has symptoms (fever, coughing, shortness of breath, difficulty breathing, flu like symptoms, etc.) even if they do not attend with you.
6. While at STA you are required to wear a mask even if you have been vaccinated.
7. As a courtesy to others If you happen to sneeze or cough naturally, please cover your cough with a tissue, or do so in your arm/shoulder area versus in your hands or in the air. Make sure to wash your hands. Avoid touching your eyes, nose, or mouth. Wash your hands frequently with soap and water for about 20 seconds.
- Students will respect property of Strategic Defense, the instructor(s) and other students.
- Students may not duplicate or disseminate any printed materials provided by Strategic Defense. Please note all training materials used at Strategic Training Academy are Company Proprietary and are subject to copyright laws and regulations copying and reproduction is strictly forbidden without the express written consent of Strategic Training Academy.
- Photography/recording is not permitted in class unless approved by or at the request of the instructor or training director.
- Students are required to be present for each hour of training.
- Tardiness and absenteeism will not be permitted. All students are expected to be on time for class and if a student is more than 15 minutes late, the student will have failed that class and a report will be generated for attendance failure. Individuals violating these provisions will be required to make up any training missed. Such training must be completed within 60 days after the completion of the training session or at the next available session offered by the training school. Individuals not completing the required training within this period are required to complete the entire training session.
- If any student is caught cheating on any practical or written test, the student will be dismissed, and a report of such activity will be provided to the regulatory agency that regulates the course in which the student is attending.
- If the instructor or training director suspects a student is under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the student will be dismissed.
- Students should immediately report any illness, injury, unsafe activities, actions, or situations to the instructor or training director.
- Course Instructors will provide to the students the goals and objectives and a training schedule for each course taught. The instructor will also speak to any test or skill requirements at the beginning of the course, so the student is aware of the expectations going forward.
- Students will always conduct themselves in a professional manner. Improper conduct may result in expulsion from class.
- Dress code is appropriate attire or agency uniform. Please remember that casual attire should reflect positively professional. Some training may require alternate attire based on activities as advised by Academy Staff.
- Course certificates will be issued to each student at the end of each course of Instruction provided the student has passed all required training. If your certificate is lost or damaged it may be replaced for a fee of $10.00 to cover the administrative cost to reprint that certificate.
- All course materials used during instruction that is not directly given to the student to keep by the instructor will be returned promptly at the end of each course of instruction.
- If a student is providing their own firearms holsters, it must be approved by the instructor.
- Students may not use re-loaded ammunition. Ammunition must be from a well-known manufacturer (i.e. Remington, PMC, Fiocchi, etc.)
- If a student is observed neglecting basic firearms safety rules or acting carelessly in the handling and care of a firearm, the student will be dismissed.
- If a student is pregnant, that student may not attend courses that involve firearms or strenuous physical activities.
- Students should wear appropriate attire for shooting at an indoor facility, which should include a crew neck shirt, a hat, pants, belt, and closed toe shoes.
- Drinking is permitted in the classroom. Food breaks will be scheduled at appropriate times.
- Use of cell phones, or other electronic devices is not permitted but must be place on silence or off. During class or training sessions if you must receive a call/text quietly step out to do so.
- Alcoholic beverages and illegal drugs are prohibited on Academy grounds at all times.
- Smoking or use of any tobacco product in the front of the building or at any place inside the building is prohibited. Smoking is only permitted outside away from the building or in your vehicle.
- Reading material unrelated to the course is prohibited while the class is in session.
- Parking for STA students is available in any spot with the red & white “Reserved for HCICC” sign.
- If a student has any physical handicaps, it should be reported to the instructor so that reasonable accommodations can be made if necessary.
- Any requests for exception to any of these rules or regulations must be reviewed by the instructor and training director.
- For all training course purchases, there are NO REFUNDS, but the student may reschedule their purchased course for another date.
- Students must agree to the payment terms on the “Course Registration Form,” which will be provided to and filled out by each student.
- Violations of these rules are to be determined at the sole discretion of the instructor and/or training director.
It shall be the policy of this training school that if a student does not pass the written exam with a minimum score of 70% that student must repeat the course at their own cost and pass if they would like to receive credit form Strategic Training Academy. The student will be given one test at the end of each training session. If a student does not attain a minimum score of 75% on the range for (07E) or (08E) or 92% for (09E) and In-Service Training, they must re-shoot the course of fire at their own cost. Remediation training will be available at a cost of $150 per student per day.
Emergency & Safety Issues
In case of an emergency or inclement weather, call the Main Academy number: (703) 462-0714. If someone must leave you an emergency message, ·please have them call the number above and the message will be brought to you. By signing up for, paying for and attending said training, Student represents that there are no legal or physical restrictions or impediments with Student in the handling or participating in any training, private security, personal protection, or firearms training. Also, Student certifies that they are not a person prohibited under federal or state law from possessing a firearm, and none of the above conditions apply to them. Student has been informed of all risks involved and they voluntarily agree to the terms and conditions stated above.